Iowa State University

Iowa State University, a land-grant university founded in 1858, is a tremendous asset to the State of Iowa but also Nevada. ISU boasts 10 schools and 100 majors. Students at ISU have the opportunity to participate in more than 800 student organizations, undergrad research, internships and study abroad. With an average enrollment of 33,000+, ISU students are tackling some of the world's biggest challenges -- feeding the hungry, finding alternative fuels and advancing manufacturing.

Des Moines Area Community College

DMACC opened in 1966, as a vocational and technical learning center in metro Des Moines. The college established its main campus in Ankeny, followed by a second campus in Boone. DMACC offers a set of core classes in the arts and sciences that virtually every four-year college degree requires. Students have the opportunity to gain their two-year degree or continue on to a four-year college.

Today DMACC is Iowa's largest and most diverse community college, serving a district that encompasses 6,560 square miles—11 percent of the land area of the state—and is home to 20 percent of Iowa's population.
Just minutes from Nevada is the Ames Hunziker Center, also known as the DMACC Career Academy. The center offers career and technical programs primarily to high school students through a partnership with Story County's seven school districts.